My Collection

Beautiful Ballerinas!

I love ballet. And I love Barbie. And (as you all know, haha) I love Barbie in the 12 Dancing Princesses, so of course when I miraculously found Princess Genevieve, Princess Hadley, Princess Isla and the Fairy Queen from Barbie of Swan Lake, for only $16 (including postage), I simply HAD to get them. So here they are!

IMG_1156

Barbie-12-dancing-princesses-disneyscreencaps.com-8388

Isla and Hadley are simply gorgeous! The only thing I would change is to make them look more like their characters in the movie (such as longer hair, more accurate dresses, rounder faces, etc). The wrong colour thing confuses me as well. Even the flowers are mixed up! I suppose I could always swap their dresses, but their necklaces and shoes aren’t removable. Speaking of which -why are they even wearing those necklaces?

IMG_1162

994862_1333813217925_full

The original doll came with the sleeves, but obviously mine is used and didn’t come with any. That’s still okay, because in one scene of the movie, her dress transforms to one without sleeves, anyway. She’s a beautiful doll and the dress is very accurate. In the movie, her character is pretty old, but the doll is still a teenager. Oh well, she looks prettier this way. That is the Teresa facemould, yes?

IMG_1160

IMG_1168 IMG_1172

Now for Genevieve, my favourite! I can’t believe I actually have a main character doll! And she transforms! This must have been really expensive. Her face is very ‘smiley’ and it’s difficult to get a nice photo, but I still love her.

IMG_1186 IMG_1187

I really do like this doll. I had to fix up her hair a bit -wash the ends, untangle it, redo the plaits- but apart from that, she was in pretty good condition.

IMG_1189 IMG_1193

Here are Hadley and Isla. As you can see, one of their legs is bent a little. Normally I wouldn’t like this, but since they’re ballerina dolls, it’s okay.

IMG_1194 IMG_1195

Their dresses are removable and they can sit, bend their shoulders, elbows, heads and do the full middle splits, as well as kicking their legs back and fourth. Here is Hadley with a Happy Family toddler, 3 Musketeers Kelly, Pony Tale Marie, amusement park Skipper and Fashionista Tropical Barbie, for height comparison.

IMG_1198 IMG_1199

And here’s Princess Genevieve! Her skirt is attached to a little plastic ring and when you press the button on the leg, the plastic bit (sometimes) rotates, making the skirt turn, too. There is another battery slot on her other leg. I’m a bit confused as to why Mattel did this -couldn’t the top part of her body also be connected to the plastic circle, making the whole top part spin? Anyway, it (kind of) still works, so that’s good. The lights, which are sewn into the skirt, don’t, however. But that’s okay, I’m not a fan of light-up toys, anyway.

IMG_1204 IMG_1205

She can sit, bend her elbows, shoulders and move her head, as well as kick her legs back and fourth. Her legs can’t separate at all, which makes her difficult to stand.

IMG_1206

Barbie-12-dancing-princesses-disneyscreencaps.com-1089

Her shoes and top are removable, but not the skirt, as expected. In the movie, Genevieve has three hairstyles, which are shared with other characters from other movies in that era. I miss them, but know those days are over. Anyway, this hairstyle (above) she wears to bed and at the beginning of the film, before Rowena invades visits the castle.

Barbie-and-the-12-Dancing-Princesses-barbie-movies-2636910-844-474   The-Wedding-barbie-in-the-12-dancing-princesses-35130268-1024-576

The first one she wears after visiting the pavilion and when Rowena is under control of the kingdom. The second one she wears in her wedding. The reason I am going on about hairstyles is because -Genevieve’s hair was cut! That’s right, just chopped off above her neck! I was horrified, because I was really looking forward to doing all those pretty hairstyles. Well, at least she’s not bald.

IMG_1207 IMG_1208

“I can’t believe Genevieve, Hadley, Isla and the Fairy Queen are coming here! To Aquifolia! To my kingdom!” Holly says, getting ready.

IMG_1209 IMG_1211

She turns to face Delancy. “What if they don’t like it here?”

“Trust me.” Delancy reassures her. “They will.” Princess Holly, Princess Rebecca and Delancy all head outside to greet their new residents.

IMG_1212 IMG_1213

“Welcome, welcome!” Says Holly. “Meet my Lady Royal, Delancy, and my sister, Princess Rebecca.”

IMG_1214 IMG_1215

By the time everyone is settled in the castle, all of Holly’s doubts have been erased. Everyone was so friendly! The sisters would be staying in another room in the castle, while the Fairy Queen would stay in Confictura, to look over and guide the fairies and mermaids.

IMG_1216

“You know what, Delancy?” Holly asks, without waiting for a reply. “I think everything’s going to be alright.”

-Pace! ❤

Leave a Reply

