My Collection

2015 Rebrand Fairy -Meet Danika

My dearest friends bought me a gift today -a 2015 rebrand fairy! I am utterly pleased. It must have been real expensive, $15 or $20, I would guess. I haven’t seen it in real life before, just in pictures, so they must have released here since my last shopping trip. I have named her Danika (not pronounced the regular way Dan-ee-kah, but Dan-i-kah).

image

Here she is rebodied onto a Fashionista body I had lying around (as you do). I’m not really sure what to put under this top.

image

Here she is in the box. It’s standard packaging, nothing too special.

image

I think this is such low standard for Mattel -it’s pretty uncreative. Even I, who can just understand the basics of Photoshop or InDesign or whatever they use to make this, could do better. Ideally they would come with a cute booklet, poster or checklist like the Littlest Pet Shop circa 2011-12 did, and a story or poem on the back, like the Budget Fairytale line did in 2009ish. I still have one from back then, it’s really great.

image

I wonder how long it took them to come up with this design. -_- Seriously, it looks like a Cheap as Chips Barbie knockoff.

image

Here she is! At first I was Not Pleased, because of the stiff body and weird clothes.

image

But, as it goes, I grew fonder and fonder by the minute. The shoes, although cheaply made, are actually really cute. They remind me a lot of Fairy Secret, how everything had wings.

image

The hair is so soft -I’m ever so glad it’s not blonde! This is the third doll I have with purple hair. Since it’s 2015, the makeup is just a plain lip colour, pink blush, the tiniest bit of brown eyeshadow and mascara. I like it.

image

Here are the accessories. The wings are cute, I hate it when the plastic is attached to the doll, so it’s good they can be swapped off and on. However they are quite bad quality, I can see them permanently bending if stored incorrectly.

image

This is the back. The wing-shaped clip was a nice touch.

image

Here she is as a regular human.

image

Here she is holding her shield top.

image

Since this type of doll is intended for very young children (hence the stiff body, lack of accessories and clip-on pieces), the skirt doesn’t have velcro and slides on and off with ease.

image

Here she is showing off her flexibility.

image

Overall, I really like this doll. She’s pretty, age-appropriate (but still enjoyable for me haha), and I can see some really great stories coming up in the future. She has a cheeky / fun thing going on, someone who you really want to be your best friend, and makes everyone feel special.

-PACE! ❤

Leave a Reply

