Movie Reviews · Opinions/Rants

Barbie: Star Light Adventure, Initial Thoughts

This isn’t really a true ‘initial thoughts’ since I watched the teaser trailer and found out about the movie months ago, but I only watched the trailer today (I think it was leaked yesterday, not sure) and thought I’d share some of my thoughts.

If you haven’t read the plot already, here it is:

“Barbie is a cosmic princess who flies high on her hoverboard through a far-off universe with her adorable and devoted pet sidekick, Pupcorn. One day, everything changes when the twinkling stars start to dim and slow their dance in the sky. Barbie travels to a beautiful new planet to join a special rescue team on a mission to save the stars. Once there, she teams up with a group of talented new friends who work together to save the galaxy through exciting hoverboarding adventures. Barbie soon discovers that if she listens to her heart, and with the help of her friends, she might be the leader the whole universe has been waiting for!”

And here is the trailer: (yes, I am taking all of this stuff from Barbie Movies Wiki -which is seriously the best wiki in the world, major-MAJOR props to Olivia for her work there and on fanpop)

I really enjoyed the trailer; I think this is gonna be one of those really amazing movies. I found it really difficult to get hyped for Secret Door and Spy Squad, but I’m definitely looking forward to this one. While I would hesitate to spend $16 on Spy Squad, I would easily pay the starting new-release movie price of $35+ for this.

0a1

I’m a fan of the cover, but I think it looks a bit too cartoon-y. I think it would be good if it had ‘a new kind of princess’ or something, underneath the pink hoverboard. Just in that gap there! In yellow, maybe. And if Pupcorn was removed and the logo was made bigger and more to the left. I especially like it how Barbie’s not in her final dress outfit.

0b9

Aren’t these cute! I bet they’ll sell for $25 each, then go down to $15 after a year since the movie’s release before being discontinued. I especially like the faces and the hair. I would only buy them if they get down to $10 each -not because they wouldn’t be wonderful additions to my collection, but because they’re not practical to have for everyday use. The same goes for princesses, fairies and mermaids. Also the obvious lack of joints -I bet they can’t look up or down, and I’d be surprised if they were able to sit. Not to mention, it looks like absolutely none of the clothes can be removed, even the shoes!

UPDATE: These never arrived to my city.

0b10

A male space team rescue person? (I’m real good with names) Awesome! He looks a bit cheaply made though, especially that face. It seems like the pants and shoes can come off, but not the shirt and gloves. This makes him super impractical. And I barely use male dolls anyway, especially unarticulated ones, mostly because of lack of clothes (This is what happens when your local stores only sell swimsuit male dolls!) Again, if he got down to $10 I might purchase him -just to complete the team more than anything else.

Being a rare male doll, I think he’ll sell for $30-$25 to start off with, then go down to $20 a year later.

UPDATE: Never arrived to my city.

0b8

Okay, major gag here. I bet this one will sell for $35 to start off with (we’re assuming that all these dolls make it to my local stores, when in reality, it’s unlikely we’ll get more than two). I’m not quite sure where to start with this one… The face is ugly, the hair looks all sticky and glittery, plus it’ll make a mess when you take it out of the ponytail, and the outfit leaves much to be desired. Not to mention the lack of articulation -looks like she won’t even be able to look up or down!

The outfit looks really, really cheaply made. It’s just a thin piece of fabric for a dress! With painted-on everything else! Let’s hope the boots can come off. Because we all need more silvery, sparkly boots, right? However, I do like that the hair piece is actually silver, not blue like the other one.

One thing that annoys me is -why is there a budget Barbie ball gown dress? Why not a budget Barbie in her space outfit? There’s only so many things that can happen at a cosmic ball, while the games you can have with a space explorer are almost unlimited.

UPDATE: Didn’t like, looked cheaply made. Sold for $20-$25.

0b12

Yay, Sal-Lee! We have articulated knees! But another completely painted-on outfit with a piece of weird mesh for a skirt. And the arms are in a weird position, permanently (well, unless you use boiling water and shove them in a freezer but that takes quite a bit of effort). But, I do like the whole lights and sound thing. Plus it comes with a hoverboard! How fun will that be? Unless, of course, the boots can’t come off the hoverboard… The hair is an issue, too. When you pull it out of that ponytail, it will take hours of fixing to get it to sit right.

I predict $70, then falling to $50 a year later, same as all the other lights-and-sounds dolls.

UPDATE: Didn’t like, looked a bit cheap. Sold for $49 (I really overestimated these prices!)

UPD

0b13

Here we have some little humanoid-alien things. I like the pink one much better, but both are cute. I predict $10-$15 each. I doubt they will be able to sit or move their heads up and down. Looks more like a fancy McDonalds toy, actually… I don’t think I would ever pay money for them, but if I got them as a gift, I think they would be a nice addition.

As for the characters, perhaps they are the other two co-stars sisters? Or some aliens they discover on the planet? Or just side characters that are barely in the film but they wanted to make dolls of them because That’s What Mattel Does.

UPDATE: Never arrived to my city.

0b11

Again, fancy McDonalds toy style things. I would never buy these, unless I was having a Star Light Adventure-themed birthday party and wanted them to go in the lolly bags (and why would I have a Barbie themed party?) Since nothing of the sort has ever made it to my local stores, I don’t really know what price to predict. Maybe $5-$7? I would pay $2 each, haha. Their ugly and cheap, in my opinion. You’d be better off repainting LPS!

UPDATE: Never arrived to my city.

0b7

Ah, the main doll! I predict $70 then falling to $50 in a year’s time. So the main feature of this doll is the flying cat she can go fishing for? Okay… Another one of my favourite painted-on outfits, I see, with the glittery mess of a ponytail. But I do like the vest and belt, it adds a nice bit of colour. The same baby face as the cosmic ball dress, and either her left arm is stuck in that bent position, or she has articulated arms. I’m hoping for the latter.

UPDATE: Didn’t like, looked cheap. Sold for $49.

G4.jpg

UPDATE: Okay, so she can definitely move off the hoverboard. Yay!

Barbie-Starlight-Adventure-Galaxy-Castle-Playset-barbie-movies-39170213-607-535

So here we have the GALAXY CASTLE PLAYSET. Looks pretty cool if you ask me! I’ve never seen something like this in the shops before (only online), so I’d guess $100? Maybe more? It’s 76cm long -that’s pretty huge, and it’d have to be at least as high as a Barbie doll. It’s pretty cool that it includes the housebot and so many accessories. I can’t quite see what they are, but it looks like tiaras. Always need more of those, since they break so easily. I like the carry handle, too.

0b14

Well it’s certainly something on the inside. I like it, but feel they could have done better. I would have rathered a spaceship than a castle, really. It’s easy to build a castle yourself, but spaceships are much more difficult. I like the fact that it comes with two hoverboards. Not sure what the point of the chair is though -with dolls like these, the weight of the legs would just make the chair fall over. Overall, it’s very cute. If the opportunity came along, I think I might buy it. I’m always a sucker for new playsets, but the amount of use I’ll get out of it will be limited. I suppose it can always act as a regular house. I also like the fact it’s mostly purple, rather than pink.

UPDATE: Never arrived to my city.

To finish up, I’m very excited for the film and seeing the toys in real life. I’m excited to see what the prices are compared to my predictions, too. I especially like how the trailer didn’t give too much away. I’m nervous to watch the music video, because I know it will probably spoil the entire plot. Late August seems so far away!

 

Leave a Reply

