I Made Something

A Long-Awaited Project…

For ages I have been hoping to build a Barbie house, but I couldn’t get my hands on a cardboard box big enough to fit a Barbie. I ended up going to a grocery clearance store and they let me take two huge boxes home FOR FREE! I was so surprised, don’t they normally make you pay?

This is the main room pre-wallpapering.

And this is it afterwards. I stuck on the black stripes to hide where the two papers came together. Even though the stripes lined up, the colour wasn’t exactly the same. Unfortunately, I stuck them all on at different heights, so at some points it doesn’t do much.

This is the back of the box. Originally, it was going to be ‘outside,’ but now it’s just another room with two very big windows. I wish there was some way to install curtains.

This is the doorframe and the stairs. It bothers me how ‘tacky’ everything looks, even though I spent hours carefully pressing down the paper and measuring it all. HOW DO PEOPLE DO THIS??!!

The stairs are freestanding. I ran out of paper, so the other side of the stairs is just plain cardboard.

A little storage spot!

I don’t know how I am going to build a second floor. If it was that difficult to find a box this high, it’ll be really hard to find a box two times the height!

Even though I’ve had ages to think about it, I don’t know what to do with this! I was thinking of making it a dance studio, so it could be like a preprofessional ballet boarding school, but although ballet is fun in real life, dancing dolls gets a little boring. Not to mention, I’d have to sew heaps of tights and leotards for the uniform. You can’t go dancing in jeans!

I then decided it would be a regular boarding school, connected to the actual school. The only dolls without homes at the moment are Danika and Kayla, but they’re not even main characters. But if they had a house, I’m sure I could work them into photostories more often… Not to mention, the dolls with bigger characters could always come for a visit.

What do you guys think? What should I do with the place? (and all the leftover cardboard taking up space on my floor…)

 

 

Leave a Reply

