Photostories

Keep Calm and Drink Tea (Photostory)

After seeing her boyfriend, Zapp, with another girl, Danika storms off. She runs into Midge, who is watering her garden.

“Oh, Mattel, are you alright?” Midge asks, seeing Danika’s face. She barely knows her, as Midge dropped out of school before Danika moved to Aquifolia.

“Yeah, I’m fine.” Danika says. Midge is amazed that Danika is even able to talk!

“Hey… I think I know you. You’re my neighbour -you live across the road, right?”

“Yeah,” Danika sniffs. “You’re Midge, right? The one with three kids?” Midge nods. “Everyone at school talks about you.”

“What? The girl who couldn’t keep her legs closed?”

Danika laughs. “Something like that.”

“You want to come inside?” Midge asks. “I can make us some tea.”

“Where are your kids?” Danika asks, looking around Midge’s homely kitchen.

“Nikki’s spending the day with Alan, while Ryan’s at kindergarten,” Midge explains. “So it’s just Cassandra and I today.” She goes to Cassandra’s bouncer and picks her up.

“Do you want to hold her?”

Danika nods. Midge warns her to be careful and support the baby’s head.

“She’s so sweet!” Danika says. “I’ve never held a baby before.” She passes Cassandra back to Midge, who puts her back in the bouncer.

“So,” Midge says, once the tea has boiled. “You want to tell me what’s going on? I’m a good listener, you know.”

“My boyfriend cheated on me; with this year ten! We had only just got together, too. He made this big speech and everything. Made it seem like he really wanted me. But I guess he was just like all the others…”

Suddenly Danika’s phone rang.

“Hello?”

Hi, Danika, it’s Chris. I just wanted to say… I didn’t know Zapp had a girlfriend. He told me he didn’t. Please don’t blame me, I’m really sorry.

“No… It’s fine. It’s not your fault.”

I have to go now, but I hope you’re okay.

They hang up and Danika runs her hand through her hair.

“I feel so awful. I want to hate Chris, but I can’t. She didn’t know.” Danika says.

Midge puts her hand over Danika’s. “I know it’s hard now, but trust me -things will get better. I promise.”

A/N:Ā Yes, Danika was talking into a television remote.

2 thoughts on “Keep Calm and Drink Tea (Photostory)

Leave a Reply

