Movie Reviews

Let’s Talk About It: Barbie LIVE vs Barbie Life in the Dreamhouse

I was a HUGE fan of Barbie: Life in the Dreamhouse. I remember when it first came out, May 2012. I was on holiday and it was such a struggle to get Wi-Fi to watch the first episode! I was a big fan of the dolls too, and eagerly waited until they arrived where I live. They never arrived, so I never got a chance to get them.

When I first saw Barbie: Live in the Dreamhouse in my subscription box, I was overjoyed. Originally, I confused it with Barbie: Dreamhouse Adventures, which is yet to be released, but it wasn’t until I pressed ‘play’ that I realised it was a separate show.

Barbie: Live in the Dreamhouse (left) compared to Barbie: Life in the Dreamhouse (right)

Surprisingly, I really enjoyed it. I loved it, actually. It’s nothing compared to the original Life in the Dreamhouse, but it’s still really good. If you look closely, you can see the wire that moves the pieces around. I don’t even mind the hands! I’m grateful they used the original voiceover, if they had changed the voices it just wouldn’t be the same.

However, I am disappointed that Barbie’s friends weren’t in the title theme, just Barbie’s sisters. Does this mean there will only be episodes with her sisters, or the title theme will change depending on who is in the episode?

If you haven’t seen it yet, here’s the link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGttsPaqhwI&t=65s

And here’s the original episode: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nETd4Fx8DyA

But here lies some important questions: why Doctor Barbie? Why start with an episode from Season Five? Are they just recreating the most popular episodes? How many episodes will they make?

Episodes I’d Really Like to See:

-Super Style Squad

-Let’s Make a Doll

-Closet Princess 2.0

-Gone Glitter Gone

-The Amaze Chase

Mattel is doing really well at the moment with its YouTube series -Barbie’s Vlogs are growing increasingly popular, and the craft videos are a cute touch, too. I’m glad they stopped with the ‘comic book style’ videos, though, although I think they were just promotion for Princess Power.

What do you think? Are you a fan of Live in the Dreamhouse? If I had a choice between Live in the Dreamhouse or a new season of Life in the Dreamhouse, it would be a new season of Life in the Dreamhouse all the way. I’d definitely be willing to pay for it, and I’m sure others would, too.

UPDATE: The first episode came out in February, and it’s now nearly May. There’s still no more episodes. Was this a one time thing? If so, why does the description read ‘comment below what episode you’d like to see next?’

I also created my own version of the title theme. Only the title theme, because I’m very busy and don’t have ten hours to waste recreating a full episode.

Leave a Reply

