Opinions/Rants · Photoshoots

Playing Dress Up & Storage Solutions

I was planning on doing a full photostory today, but I was just so darn exhausted I ended up dressing my dolls, stetting the scene and then never actually taking the photos! So I decided to post this instead -I’ll try to do the photostory next weekend, if I can squeeze it in.

Dressing up Barbie’s is so much fun, it’s always been one of my favourite things about Barbie. It helps that I’ve always had a huge catalogue of outfits to choose from!

Today I wanted to try something new -layering a modern shirt over an older dress. The dress is from 2006 (it came with the Kohl Forever Barbie Townhouse, which you can read about here) and the shirt is from 2015 or 2016 (you can read about it here). I’m not a huge fan of this look, but I think it suits Aimee’s daring personality. The headphones come from a Sporty Extra Head.

Emily wears older pieces -from 2003-2005- to create a look that is very innocent and sweet. I think this top came with the 2005 Totally Real House, I’m not sure though. Emily is such a lovely character, so I think this simple outfit suits her well. The headpiece is from a 2011 fashion pack, which you can read about here.

I have no idea why I decided to dress Catrina in such ridiculous outfits, but I feel like she’s stuck with this look for now! This is a dress I picked up in a bulk of 80s/90s outfits for $10. Honestly, I ended up throwing most of them out because they were just so ugly but this dress has grown on me, I’ll admit. She wears a headpiece from a Budget Fairy doll, which you can read about here.

Danika wears such loud outfits, but she really is such a quiet girl on the inside. She wears this shirt, from 2003 or so, paired with Zia’s shiny pants (read the original post here). I don’t usually use these pieces because they are just so bold, but I think Danika suits them.

Here’s a group shot of all the girls together.

I store the bulk of my Barbie outfits in this tub here. It’s a perfect choice for me because it’s just the right size and can easily be stashed away in a cupboard. I keep long, elegant dresses and things I don’t use very often (like the netball skirt!) in a different place, because I don’t use them very often and it’s hard enough to find things as it is! I usually end up tipping the whole thing out when I’m looking for something specific (only to discover another doll is already wearing it…)

The dresses are kept in the storage divider and everything else is just loose. I used to categorise everything by type (pants, shirts, jackets, etc.) and store them in individual zip-lock bags, but that just got SO ANNOYING when I needed to put everything away in a hurry.

The accessories and shoes are kept in these desk organisers. They’re good because they can be stacked on top of each other and don’t take up too much space. I have the shoes organised by flat / children’s / male / boots / everything else. I also have a section for shoes without a pair, in case the other one magically turns up somewhere. The accessories are organised by bags / jewellery / headgear / sunglasses.

This case is for things I don’t use very often, like children’s clothing, swimwear, male clothing and lifejackets. Again, this is so I don’t have to sort through too much stuff.

And just for fun, this is my doll shelf. The bottom shelf is for dolls I am currently using, and the middle shelf is for display (EAH, 12 Dancing Princesses and Diamond Castle Alexa). I always make sure to keep them away from direct light, but it’s tricky when the window is right next door!

The top shelf is for my Barbie movie collection. I don’t have them all yet, but someday I might!

How do you keep your doll clothes organised? Are you guilty of leaving your dolls in the same outfits for months on end? (I know I am!)

-Pace! XD

8 thoughts on “Playing Dress Up & Storage Solutions

  1. Great photos and insights into doll storage! You are far moe practical than I am. I have this notion that every doll has to have his or her own complete wardrobe to fit every occasion and every doll must have a role to play in my doll universe, so each one has their own plastic bag. They do get to share shoes! 😉 There are two issues with that – I keep buying dolls and then I have to buy more clothes and then the doll universe has to expand! And my husband has put me on a strict budget. ☹️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used to do exactly that! But, as you can see, I really only have enough clothes for one or two outfits for every doll, which meant I ended up with lots of half-empty plastic bags. I suppose it’s better than the time I tried to build individual houses for each doll, ha. Living with that was a nightmare!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, that’s awesome! I tried to learn to knit once, it didn’t work out so well… I think I have some dolls that have literally never worn more than one outfit in the entire time I’ve owned them 😉 It’s really neat that you get dolls mostly from second hand shops, your collection must be pretty diverse.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 😀 Oh, I hope you try again some time 🙂 Doll clothes are so fun to knit cos they get finished so fast!
        Ha ha, me too 🙂 Some dolls just look good in what they’re wearing! 🙂 Thank you – I do find some really good interesting dolls, definitely! I have one with pink hair, and a princess Jasmine from Aladdin, and lots of different ones. Recently I found an Ideal Tammy for 25p! I couldn’t believe they were selling her so cheaply. I like having dolls with all colours of hair. I have one with red hair and one with curly brown hair, and several brunettes and blondes 🙂 You have an incredible collection! I have nowhere near such an amazing collection as you do 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh gosh, thanks! My sister had the most beautiful doll with pink hair and she cut it all off! One day I hope to get another doll with pink hair like it -my favourite dolls are the ones that look a bit different!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

