Photostories

Back to School (photostory)

It’s Monday morning, the first day of the new doll school year. Summer might not be over yet, but the holidays sure are!

Aimee gets an upsetting phone call from Andrew.

“I’m sorry, Aimee, but we’ve made the decision to cut you from the summer training program.” Aimee is horrified. She knows it was a bad idea to skip her exam, but was it really bad enough to justify cutting her from the team?

“I understand.” Aimee replies, hanging up. If she can’t be an astronaut, and she can’t be a proper princess, what if she supposed to do with her life?

Meanwhile…

“Neko! Are you ready to go yet? I’m about to start the car, and I promise, I will leave without you!” Neko’s older sister Tori can be scary when she wants to be.

“I’m coming, I’m coming!” Neko cries, grabbing her schoolbag. Time to rush out the door!

“Hi Aimee!” Neko says, smiling as she sees Aimee in the hallway.

Aimee is not so happy. “Oh, Neko! Guess what happened?” RIIINNGG! She sighs. Stupid bell. “I’ll tell you at lunchtime.”

“I hope you’re all ready for an exciting day of learning!” Ms Tori is a teacher at the high school. “Turn on your laptops, please.”

As they wait for their laptops to load, the class chatters. “Hey, are you okay? I heard about what happened…” Kayla says.

Emily is confused. “What are you talking about?”

“You know, with the baby and everything…” It’s an awkward subject, and Kayla isn’t sure what to say. “I heard some girls talking about it this morning. I just wanted you to know, I’m here for you. Whatever you decide.”

“Wait -what?” Now Emily is even more confused!

Aimee looks up across the table. “Emily, you’re pregnant?” She gasps.

“What? No!”

Ryan, Emily’s boyfriend, leaps up from his seat. “What? You cheated on me?”

“Of course not! No!” Emily is horrified. What is happening? Who has been saying these things? “I promise, I didn’t! I’m not having a baby!”

Ms Tori comes between them. “Emily, I’ll see you in my office at lunchtime. Everyone, settle down please. Back in your seats.”

Emily feel as though she is about to burst into tears.

***

It’s lunchtime, and Emily is off at a meeting with Ms Tori. Aimee is telling Neko and Danika what Andrew told her this morning.

“And then she said, I’m cut from the team!” Aimee is not upset anymore, she’s mad! How dare they? “After all that studying I did! They wouldn’t even let me retake the exam.”

Danika looks down, embarrassed. She heard her boyfriend, Zapp, telling Andrew that Neko should be cut out of the program.

Just then, Emily returns. Everyone is sympathetic.

“What’s going on?” Aimee asks. “You’re definitely not pregnant, right?”

“Of course not! It’s just a silly rumour. Ms Tori says she’s going to find out who started it.”

The bell rings. Lunchtime is over, and everyone stands up to leave.

“Aimee, wait!” Danika cries.

“It was Zapp who told Andrew to cut you from the team… I was there. I tried to tell him off, but he wouldn’t listen to me. Aimee, I’m sorry I didn’t try harder… I didn’t think he would actually convince her.”

“Danika, please. It’s fine. It’s not your fault; it’s mine. I should have turned up for the exam, or at least told them I wouldn’t be coming.”

“Come on, let’s go to class. Can’t be late on the first day back!”

***

Here’s Neko being fabulous pre-photoshoot.

Did anybody notice Aimee and Neko were wearing the same shorts? Teehee, I didn’t, until halfway through! Oops!

Unfiltered, natural light, ahh!

The grass was a bit wet and muddy. It’s been cold today.

The trickiest part is getting them all to look at the camera!

5 thoughts on “Back to School (photostory)

Leave a Reply

