Photostories

Meeting the Parents (photostory)

Oh my goodness, it has been so cold here lately! Anyway, today’s photostory starts in the newly opened cafe.

“Hi, welcome to the Lemon Tree! What can I get for you?” Kayla puts on her very best customer-face.

“Oh, hi, Kayla!” Danika says. “How cool that you work here! Can we get two chocolate sundaes, please?”

“Coming right up! Dine in or takeaway?”

“Dine in, please.”

“That’s fourteen dollars, thanks.”

“Just PayWave it.” Danika says, handing over her credit card.

They take a seat. “So, uh… I might have made a little mistake…” Danika says.

“What?” Asks her boyfriend, Zapp, concerned.

“I might have told my mother I was seeing somebody, and now she kind of wants to meet you…”

“Uh, what?” Zapp isn’t too happy about that. His parents are back in Manhattan, and they have hardly spoken to him since he came out as bisexual. “But we haven’t even been dating that long!”

“I know, I know!” Danika wishes she’d never told her mother anything. “You don’t have to.”

“No, it’s okay… Let’s meet her here, for dinner.” Zapp suggests. He just wants to get it over with, really.

“Oh. Okay. Cool.”

“This place is so neat!” Barbie says.

“Yeah, too bad we’re massively understaffed!” Kayla says. “Holly said she’d arrange more staff, but it hasn’t happened yet…”

“Hey-” Chris interrupts. “I can work here. I mean, if you need someone.”

“Oh, thank goodness!” Kayla cries. “You’ve got the job! Just let me get the paperwork.”

***

“Neko, will you play with me?” Delia asks.

“No, Delia. Can’t you see I’m busy?” Neko doesn’t bother to look up from her laptop.

“I’m back!” Aimee cries, bounding into the room. “Your mom let me in. I hope that’s okay.”

“You’re home early!”

“So how was outer space?” Neko asks.

“Amazing!” Aimee cries. “We went to Galaxy 7 and oh my goodness, it was even bigger than in the textbooks!”

“How was Holly’s coronation? Is she still mad at me?”

“Um, I think so. But don’t worry about it! I’m sure she’ll come around.”

Aimee isn’t convinced.

***

Later that evening…

“Hey guys, we’re back!” Zapp says. Kayla is teaching Chris how to use the register. “Can we get a table for three?”

“Mom!” Danika cries. “Over here!”

“And you must be Zapp!” Danika’s mother says. “Gosh, isn’t that an unhealthy meal! Soda and pizza!”

“Yes, well, I just came back from outer-space, so I figured I deserved a little reward.” He takes a bite of his pizza before continuing. “I’m a scientist.”

“Ah, perfect! With Danika’s computer skills, and your science skills, looks like I’ll be getting lots of intelligent grandchildren!”

Zapp coughs on his drink. “What?”

“Whoa, Mom!” Danika can’t believe what’s happening. “Slow it down there!”

***

Needless to say, Danika’s plan did not go as she hoped.

 

3 thoughts on “Meeting the Parents (photostory)

Leave a Reply

